- 1 go auto insurance in lafayette louisiana
- 1.1 The Best Louisiana Auto Insurance Company
- 1.2 How We Found the Best Auto Insurance in Louisiana
- 1.3 Louisiana Auto Insurance Reviews
- 1.4 What Louisiana Drivers Need to Know
- 1.5 Proof of Financial Responsibility
- 1.6 Why Buying Liability Insurance is the Most Popular Option
- 1.7 How much insurance are you required to buy?
- 1.8 What are auto insurance companies required to offer you?
- 1.9 What does Uninsured Motorist Protection pay for?
- 1.10 Are uninsured motorists a problem in Lafayette?
- 1.11 What does Medical Payments cover?
- 1.12 Do you need Medical Payments coverage in Lafayette?
- 1.13 What's the penalty for driving uninsured?
- 1.14 Do you need to carry physical damage coverage?
- 1.15 Go auto insurance in lafayette louisiana
- 1.16 Go auto insurance in lafayette louisiana
- 1.17 Lafayette Automobile Insurance
go auto insurance in lafayette louisiana
The Best Louisiana Auto Insurance Company
Latest Update March 28, 2018
Louisiana has the highest rates for auto insurance in the country — on average $1,405 per year, compared to the nationwide average of $1,009. That said, how much you’ll pay can vary a lot depending on your car, your coverage, and your address. Use our tool to find your best rates:
Enter your ZIP code to find your best rates:
Find the best auto insurance in Alabama
Enter your ZIP code to find your best rates:
Louisiana is caught in a vicious cycle. Its auto insurance rates are the highest in the nation at nearly $300 above the national average. As a result, many of its drivers can’t afford insurance or can only afford the state minimum. So, when accidents happen, drivers often can’t afford to pay, or they end up in court. All of this means greater expense to insurance companies, which leads them to increase rates, putting an even greater strain on drivers.
While it’s difficult to find an affordable auto insurance policy in Louisiana, it isn’t impossible. You just have to shop around. Decide what level of coverage you need and compare quotes from several companies to find out which offers you the best value. You can start by reading our reviews of the top five auto insurance companies in Louisiana and then using our quote tool to see what they can offer you.
By law, all drivers are required to carry liability insurance, but the exact amount varies by state. In Louisiana, you must have at least:
- $15,000 bodily injury coverage per person
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident
You’ll often see this abbreviated as 15/30/25 coverage. This is particularly low compared to the rest of the nation; most other states require at least 25/50/25.
Our recommendation: Buy as much coverage as you can comfortably afford.
Many drivers in Louisiana only carry the state minimum coverage, and while this might tempt you given the cost of premiums, it could end up costing more in the long run. The state minimums aren’t nearly enough to cover a worst-case scenario.
If you find yourself responsible for another driver’s $50,000 in medical bills, your insurance company will only help you out with the first $15,000. That leaves you to pay the remaining $35,000 on your own.
The better way to save on your auto insurance? Shop around. Each insurer has their own formula for calculating premiums. And while they all look at the same factors — including your vehicle, location, and driving record — every company weighs these factors differently. Once you know your options, choose the company that offers you the best deal on the highest level of coverage.
How We Found the Best Auto Insurance in Louisiana
We used a methodology similar to the one in our national auto insurance review. First, we investigated which were the top insurers in the state by market share — we wanted to compare the biggest players in the space.
Then, we checked with rating agencies like A.M. Best, Moody’s and Standard & Poor’s to ensure that they were all financially sound. These agencies rate companies on their “financial solvency” — the likelihood that they can pay out their customer’s claims.
From there, it came down to what the companies had to offer. We evaluated each of them based on their coverage limits, endorsements, discounts and customer satisfaction ratings according to J.D. Power and Consumer Reports in order to determine which provided the most coverage and best service for the most reasonable price. We also picked up the phone to speak to local agents and tried out the quote process for ourselves.
Remember: auto insurance premiums vary a lot depending on you, your driving history, and your car. That’s why it’s so important to compare quotes from multiple providers.
Louisiana Auto Insurance Reviews
GEICO gave us our second-most affordable quote, though it was still $67 more than Progressive. You may be able to reduce that difference, however, if you take advantage of its many discounts. Save by being a safe driver, having safety devices on your vehicle, or being a federal employee or military member.
You can also adjust your rates by choosing a higher deductible. Options range from $50 to $2,500, and going with a higher amount will lower your premiums significantly. If you don’t want to deal with any out-of-pocket costs in the event of a claim, you can also choose a “no deductible” option (though this raises your monthly premium significantly).
With GEICO, the most per-accident coverage you can purchase is $300,000 — the lowest of any company on this list. But GEICO also enables you to buy $300,000 of per-person coverage, making it second only to State Farm in this category.
In addition to the required liability coverage and standard options like collision, comprehensive and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, GEICO also offers the ever-rare mechanical breakdown coverage. This pays for repairs not related to an auto accident, and it could come in very useful in a state known for high auto repair costs.
GEICO outdoes all the rest in terms of customer service, too. It received an 89 overall score from Consumer Reports, and both J.D. Power and Consumer Reports gave it an above-average rating for its claims handling, including the simplicity of the process and timeliness and amount of the payment.
In a state where accidents are so common, it’s important to make sure the company you choose isn’t going to create any extra headaches for you when the time comes to file a claim. This isn’t a concern with GEICO.
State Farm is your best choice if you’re interested in purchasing high liability coverage limits. It’s the only company on this list that enables you to purchase up to 500/500/500, which should be enough to cover even the most serious accidents. The tradeoff for this is, of course, a higher price.
Even so, you can counteract that price hike by taking advantage of discounts, including its Drive Safe & Save and Steer Clear programs. The Drive Safe & Save program monitors your driving for several months, and if you do well, you could earn big savings. Its Steer Clear program is a training course only available to drivers under 25.
You can also choose a higher deductible, and in some cases, you may not have a choice. The minimum collision deductible is $250, which is high considering that companies like GEICO and Liberty Mutual only require a minimum $50 deductible. For most people, this won’t be an issue, but if you want to minimize your expenses in the event of a claim, one of the other companies may be a better fit.
State Farm covers all the bases, including collision, comprehensive and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. These are not required by state law, but they’re critical in a state that’s known for a high percentage of accidents and uninsured motorists.
State Farm is also one of the only companies on the list to offer ridesharing coverage to Uber and Lyft drivers, so you should definitely get a quote from here if you plan on working for one of these companies.
State Farm did well in both J.D. Power and Consumer Reports’ surveys, though J.D. Power rated it slightly behind GEICO in terms of claims handling. Still, you shouldn’t have to worry about any problems when the time comes to file a claim.
Progressive gave us what was far and away our most affordable quote at $211 per month, and it is known for its low prices, making it one of the first stops for those in the hunt for affordable auto insurance. But its deductible options are limited compared to its competitors.
Companies like GEICO and Allstate enable customers to choose a deductible as low as $50 and to waive their comprehensive deductible altogether if they’d like. Progressive’s lowest deductible is $100.
Progressive is also the only company on this list that doesn’t offer accident forgiveness, so there’s no way to protect yourself against rate hikes if you have an accident. If this concerns you, you may want to go with a company like GEICO that provides this coverage while still keeping rates affordable.
However, it’s worth taking a closer look at Progressive if you’re interested in certain rare endorsements like GAP coverage. This pays the balance of your lease or loan if your vehicle is totaled in an accident. Progressive is the only company on this list that offers it.
It’s also the only company that offers custom parts and pet injury coverage as optional endorsements. If you’ve had a lot of custom work done to your vehicle or you frequently travel with your pet, these may be things worth adding.
Allstate offers the most auto insurance discounts, including savings for paperless billing, paying in full, owning a new car and having safety features like anti-lock brakes and anti-theft devices. But curiously, it still gave us our most expensive quote at $365 per month with a $1,000 deductible.
You may be able to bring this cost down significantly if you choose a higher deductible, however; there are 11 different options available ranging from $50 to $2,500.
Despite the high cost, it’s worth looking into if you’re interested in certain endorsements like custom parts and ridesharing coverage. It’s also one of the only companies to offer new car replacement, which pays the full value to replace your new vehicle if it is totaled in an accident instead of the depreciated value. This coverage is especially valuable in a state like Louisiana where auto repair costs are among the highest in the nation.
Allstate received mixed reviews from customers, with those in the Consumer Reports survey rating it highly while those surveyed by J.D. Power gave it slightly below-average scores. If this concerns you, you may feel more comfortable choosing a company like GEICO or State Farm that is known for consistently scoring high in customer satisfaction.
Liberty Mutual’s quote fell right in the middle of the pack, so it could go either way for you depending on how many discounts you’re able to take advantage of. You can save by being a safe driver, owning a new or hybrid vehicle and paying in full.
There are also discounts available to new graduates, newly married couples and new retirees which you won’t find with any other insurance provider on this list.
Liberty Mutual offers several endorsements available that could save you quite a bit of money in the event of a claim, including a lifetime repair guarantee for vehicle repairs done at an approved facility. If that same item breaks again, you won’t have to pay anything out of pocket.
There’s also new car replacement and better car replacement, which pays to replace your totaled car with one a model year newer with 15,000 fewer miles on it.
You’ll save for being accident-free with Deductible Fund, too. Every year you go without an accident, Liberty Mutual will lower your collision deductible until it disappears entirely.
Like Allstate, Liberty Mutual received mixed reviews from consumers, though all seemed to agree that its claims handling was a step below the rest. Ideally, you won’t ever have to file a claim, but if this is a concern for you, you may feel more comfortable choosing a company like GEICO that has an established reputation for fair and efficient claims processing.
What Louisiana Drivers Need to Know
Many Louisiana drivers are uninsured or only carry minimum coverage.
According to the Insurance Information Institute, 13 percent of Louisiana drivers are uninsured. This is due in part to the high cost of auto insurance in the state, which many are unable to afford. According to Insurance Commissioner Jim Donelon, 40 percent of the drivers who are insured only carry the state minimum coverage.
Consequently, when drivers get into an accident, their small amount of liability coverage is not enough to cover the damages. This often results in lawsuits where people attempt to make up the difference by suing the other driver.
That’s why it’s critical to purchase as much liability coverage as you can comfortably afford, and make sure to add uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage as well in case you end up in an accident with another driver that doesn’t have insurance.
It may cost more in the short term, but it will save you thousands if you’re involved in an accident.
Louisiana has one of the highest rates of fatal accidents.
Gas is cheap in Louisiana, and this encourages people to drive more. Unfortunately, more drivers on the road also increases the chances of accidents, and these are often fatal. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, 757 people died in Louisiana in 2016 in fatal car accidents — the eight-highest rate in the nation by population density.
This is another key contributor to Louisiana’s high insurance rates because these claims are often expensive, especially if there is a lawsuit. Coupled with a rampant uninsured motorist problem, it’s easy to see why Louisiana’s auto insurance rates have been steadily rising for years.
Unfortunately, there’s nothing Louisiana residents can do about this besides staying safe and maintaining a clean driving record. If you do get into an accident, expect your rates to rise even higher. You may want to consider adding accident forgiveness, available with GEICO, State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual, to protect yourself against rate hikes following a single accident.
It’s expensive to get your vehicle repaired in Louisiana.
The average auto repair cost per claim in Louisiana is $2,838 — $250 above the national average. This is another reason auto insurers must charge more in Louisiana: It costs them more to pay for your vehicle to get repaired, and they pass that added cost onto you in the form of higher premiums.
Many drivers don’t purchase collision or comprehensive coverage in order to reduce this cost, but this isn’t always possible. If you have a lease or loan on your vehicle, your lender will require you to carry this coverage. And even if you’re not required to have it, it’s still a good idea.
Collision coverage pays to repair your vehicle in the event that you are responsible for an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for all types of accidents not related to collisions, like vandalism, theft, deer-vehicle accidents and storm damage. Considering how often Louisiana is hit by floods, this is a good investment.
Without this coverage, you will have to pay for your vehicle repairs entirely out of your own pocket, and if it’s totaled, you’re out of luck. If you’re concerned about the cost, you can always opt for a higher deductible. This will reduce your premiums significantly.
The City of Lafayette is one of the few places between Berkeley and Walnut Creek that holds onto a semi-rural character with all of the amenities that you'd expect to find in the modern world.
With clean air, a high quality of living and a quality education system, Lafayette is a desirable place to live with a diverse population and many opportunities.
While Lafayette is a unique place that's dedicated to police, planning, parks and public works, it's still an incorporation in California. Since it's part of the state, all residents are expected to obey state laws.
Since auto insurance laws are drafted and overseen by state officials, all residents of California should brush up on vehicle code to ensure they're complying before they register their vehicle or drive.
Proof of Financial Responsibility
California has a Financial Responsibility law that specifically says that you must carry evidence of your ability to pay for damages at all times.
One thing that's unique about California is that you have options. While a Financial Responsibility law is much different than a mandatory insurance law, a majority of people in the state still choose to carry insurance.
Evidence of financial responsibility comes in a few different forms.
It's essentially a way to prove that you have the necessary funds to pay others to recover from damages that you or someone in your home cause while you are driving a vehicle that you own. Here are some are approved ways to show evidence of financial responsibility:
- Post a cash deposit in the amount of $35,000 with the California Department of Motor Vehicles
- File a $35,000 surety bond that's issued by a California bondsman
- File a self-insurance certificate with the department when driving a vehicle owned by a company
- Buy an auto insurance liability policy through a company licensed in California
Why Buying Liability Insurance is the Most Popular Option
Insurance might not be mandatory but it's definitely the best evidence of financial responsibility for the average person.
Even if you have assets and cash on hand, you don't necessarily want to put either of them up as collateral to pay for damages. Since claimants can sue you for damages and pain and suffering, having added protection is key.
Instead of putting $35,000 and your property at risk, you can buy auto insurance and pay a small amount of money each month.
You do have to pay premiums consistently, but you'll have financial protection in today's litigious times. When you have a claim, you don't have to worry about paying for bills, court costs, and judgments with your property or future wages.
How much insurance are you required to buy?
If you don't have $35,000 or property to secure a bond, you're required by law to buy nothing less than a basic liability policy.
Liability insurance pays for bills that are presented by claimants if you're primarily at fault for a loss. In California, you must be at least 51% liable for a loss before your policy will pay anyone else.
There are two different components of third-party liability coverage and both are required under the state law. It's not possible to buy a policy that doesn't include both liability components. These components are called Bodily Injury and Property Damage.
Bodily Injury, which often goes by BI, is a liability coverage that will disburse payments to pedestrians, drivers and other passengers that you injury while you're driving your car. Limits are set per person, but the total claim for injury can't exceed the per accident limit. Court fees and legal representation is paid for separate.
Property Damage, which goes by PD, is the second component of liability coverage that covers repair bills and the cost to replace vehicles when they're totaled. The limit for PD coverage is on a per-occurrence basis and not a per vehicle basis. That means that you can cause minimal damage and still exceed your limits.
What are auto insurance companies required to offer you?
Not only do you have to be given the opportunity to buy higher limits of liability coverage, California auto insurance carriers are legally required to inform you of first-party coverage options.
You as a consumer aren't required to buy these coverage options, but you must sign a form saying you want to reject them if you don't put them on your policy.
The two coverage options that you must be offered to all car owners are Uninsured Motorist Protection and Medical Payments. While each of these options will bump your premiums, they're worth consideration. After all, liability coverage pays other people but all of the other coverage options that you can add to your policy pay you.
What does Uninsured Motorist Protection pay for?
Uninsured Motorist Protection pays for your medical bills, lost income, disability services, and pain and suffering when someone hits you and doesn't have the evidence of financial responsibility to pay for your damages.
The minimum amount of coverage that you can carry is $15,000 per person, up to $30,000 per accident.
Are uninsured motorists a problem in Lafayette?
The median household income in Lafayette is $136,438. While this is substantially higher than national average incomes, the cost of living in the city is extraordinarily high.
Because the cost of living is so high, uninsured motorists are still a problem.
If you look at the averages, 14.7 percent of drivers in California don't have insurance. Doing the math can help you determine how much risk is present in Lafayette. Since there's a population of about 8771 cars in the city, around 1290 drivers living in Lafayette are driving around the rural roads without a financial responsibility filing.
What does Medical Payments cover?
Medical payments is also a first-party coverage, but it's a coverage that doesn't have as many restrictions as UM. Medical Payments pays for your expenses regardless of fault. By law, the carriers in the state must offer you no less than $1000 per person in Medical Payments coverage.
Do you need Medical Payments coverage in Lafayette?
While it's not required, it is a coverage that can help you cover those immediate expenses for an ambulance or a hospital stay if you don't have health insurance.
It can also help you cover your high deductible or co-pay when you have medical insurance.
Since the cost of living healthcare index in Lafayette is higher than both the national average and the statewide average, having some added protection to pay for doctor bills is a good idea. Consider not just the minimum limits, but higher limits that'll pay for more than just basic healthcare services.
What's the penalty for driving uninsured?
Driving uninsured or with no type of financial responsibility can put so many people at-risk.
If you're thinking about saving money by dropping your coverage, think again. As long as your vehicle is registered in the state, it's your legal duty to maintain your coverage. Here are the consequences that you may face:
- A fine of $100 to $200 for a first offense
- Penalty assessments
- Court-ordered vehicle impound
- Suspended registration or license if you're involved in an accident with no insurance
- Registration reinstatement fee
- SR-22 requirement as proof of insurance for up to 3 years
Do you need to carry physical damage coverage?
Physical damage consists of comprehensive and collision. If you have both, you have what's called a full coverage plan. Full coverage isn't required by state officials but it is required by lenders.
If you have the option to buy full coverage, you should consider whether or not it's worth the cost.
Comparing cost and risk can be helpful when you're making a decision. Lafayette is very safe on the crime index. Only 43 motor vehicle thefts have been reported in the whole city, making the theft rate very low. If your premium for comprehensive is high and your vehicle value is low, dropping full coverage might be best.
The only way to compare costs and decide on limits is to get auto insurance quotes.
You can either get quotes direct through a company or through a broker. If you want to do everything online, using a brokerage-style comparison shopping tool is the best way to save time.
Lafayette Parish was listed as number 9 in Bloomberg Businessweek’s America’s Best Affordable Places for 2011. With over 110,000 residents (2010), Lafayette has many retail options including 2 shopping malls, downtown Lafayette, The Oil Center, and River Ranch, a new development which offers a more specialized and unique shopping experience. Lafayette is also home to one university, one community college and two vocational colleges. All relate to the need for an affordable, adequate auto insurance policy.
Lafayette drivers who face congested roads, detours, or long highway drives daily should certainly look into Car Insurance that protects them. A local independent insurance professional will know what it’s like to drive in Lafayette, and can recommend an Auto Insurance policy that makes sense for you and your vehicle – and also fits within your budget.
A licensed professional can help you make the proper decisions regarding adequate policy limits and deductibles. These decisions can have great consequences in accidents involving serious bodily injury of extensive property damage.
You can be protected against uninsured drivers and unexpected accidents, and you can rest assured that if there is an accident and the driver at fault isn’t insured, you won’t face out-of-pocket costs to repair or replace your vehicle. Contact a local car insurance professional from the Lafayette area to gain the peace of mind you deserve.
Enhanced Insurance is not written by attorneys. If you’re looking for legal advice, you need to contact a lawyer. Further, insurance practices and forms change constantly and are varied from state to state. For definitive answers in your area, contact a local agent.
Go auto insurance in lafayette louisiana
Looks like Esurance doesn't do business in your area yet.
Right now, we offer products in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. If you're in one of those areas and feel you're getting this message in error, give us a call at 1-800-ESURANCE (1-800-378-7262).
© Esurance Insurance Services, Inc. All rights reserved. CA License #0G87829. Policies underwritten by Esurance Insurance Company and its affiliates. San Francisco, CA.
Go auto insurance in lafayette louisiana
Compare Insurance Quotes from Top Insurers
Lafayette Automobile Insurance
Lafayette automobile insurance is essential when you are living in this Cajun city. There are great opportunities for entertainment and frequenting all of the wonderful restaurants and cuisine. To travel to and from these activities you will need a great vehicle with adequate Lafayette auto insurance. Most people in Louisiana have more than one car - if you compare quotes online and find great coverage on all of your vehicles you can save even more money.
Lafayette automobile insurance quotes will be easy to find online. If you do not have to pay a lot for car insurance - you will be able to afford the other activities you enjoy. Do not try to get by without good protection on you LA car - if your are pulled over by the police - you will be given a citation if you cannot provide proof of insurance. If you are looking for a no obligation quote - just fill out the simple online form and you will matched with Lafayette companies right in your own neighborhood. Get all of your information together and then go online to find the best Louisiana car insurance policy today.
Owing a used car in Lafayette LA is a smart decision. If you just need a vehicle to get you back and forth from work or school - you do not need a brand new expensive sports car. You can save a lot of money by only purchasing a liability auto insurance plan for your Lafayette automobile. With this type of protection if you are involved in an accident while driving down the highway - you will be able to take care of the repairs for the other car. Although, you will not be able to fix your own vehicle. If the car was used and not worth much to begin with - it will be much cheaper to just go out and find another used car to drive.
Collision insurance is important if you are involved in an accident with another car. When both automobiles receive damage - they will both need to be repaired quickly. If you have compared Lafayette auto insurance quotes and you are getting a great rate - you should file a claim right away. You do not want to be without transportation for a long time and depending on family and friends is not always an option. Even if you are one of the safest drivers around - you can be distracted in an instant. You will feel much better if you know your automobile coverage is in place and you can make a claim with no hassles. Do not lose the freedom to drive a car because you do not have Lafayette auto insurance - just go online and in a matter of minutes you will have the coverage you need.
If you recently bought an expensive luxury car you will definitely need to compare Lafayette car insurance rates. This coverage will protect your automobile in the event it is damaged from theft or vandalism or from hitting an animal or other object in the road. There are many pros and cons you will need to consider when purchasing insurance. If your car will retain its value for a long time - if there is damage it will be worth it to make the repairs. No one wants to be involved in an accident - but there are many road hazards in Louisiana. Just make sure you are safe when driving and always make sure your Lafayette automobile insurance is up to date.
Discounts on Lafayette Vehicle Insurance
No matter how much money you make - saving money is always a good idea in Lafayette, Louisiana. If you can earn discounts on your automobile insurance - it will be worth your time and effort. One easy way to save money is to raise your deductible. If you can pay just a little bit more out of pocket expense if you are involved in an accident - it will be worth the money you save on a monthly basis. If you have more than one car or if you also need health or home insurance - combining policies with the same Lafayette company can give you even more savings. You will never know how much money you can save if you do not compare quotes online. Take the time to go online today.
Lafayette automobile insurance will give you peace of mind anytime you are driving your car. You should not only think about your own safety - but also that of your family. If anyone was involved in an accident - it will be much less stressful if you know you have good automobile coverage in Lafayette, LA. In just minutes you can have the protection you need at a price you can afford.